Wellbeing, Care and Learning - Children

Family Service Review


ooOoo

May 2015

At the DJC on 29 April Colin Williams stated that staffing was completed and that 4 staff are currently on redeployment from this review.

ooOoo

March 2015

I have asked whether management has issued a communication to parents regarding which services will be operating from which locations as we were informed that this was due to go out in February.

I have also asked HR for the present figures on Redeployment.

You will be aware of our ‘noisy protest’ taking place on 4th March @ 4.30pm, highlighting the cuts that Councillors are due to vote in – this includes Family Services and Sure Start as well as many more.

ooOoo

February 2015

Following requests for VR being approved by Scrutiny some posts were able to be ‘lift and drop’.

This applied to the Sure Start Lead position and also the Sure Start Teachers.

Interviews have been taking place for some of the posts within the new structure and there are still some which are at the point of EOI as JE had to take place on new JD’s which were then taken to Moderation Panel for sign off.

We had asked for information regarding Commissioned Services as we have some members within these areas.

We have been informed that within Barnardo’s that staff have come forward and asked for hours to be reduced rather than posts lost and that this has been agreed.

We still do not full information on how many families may be affected who fall out of the Community Hub areas – they would still be entitled to Universal Services but not the full Sure Start offer.  Although it has been stated that no buildings will close, we are unclear on which buildings will provide which services.

The Sure Start Contact Group met to discuss concerns and to put forward ideas on the way forward with our campaign around this.

We are looking at contacting Councillors about the effect on their particular wards and the fact that some parents may still not know the full effect of the changes in relation to the services that they now access.

Management are busy working on a communication to parents regarding this which should go out in February, but until then staff have been approached about concerns parents and families have in relation to this.

There has been quite a lot of press coverage on the Family Service Review and this has helped keep our Campaign in the public eye, it would appear that some Councillors also have concerns about full information according to latest news articles.

ooOoo

January 2015

Staff briefings took place in early December regarding the proposals in terms of staffing. We have tried to cover all briefings and have a Unison presence.

We then contacted staff groups and asked whether they would sent through concerns etc. and that we could arrange meetings either in groups or individually.

We have done this and sent through concerns to management for their responses.

Responses from management were them shared this week.

We took our concerns regarding the proposed EOI submission date -, which was to be 2nd January 2015, to Ewan Weir and Pat Ritchie and were notified that this was to be extended to 12th January.

It has been confirmed with staff this week on who will be asked to submit an EOI and who will be lift and drop. (W/c 15th Dec). Staff on FTC and secondments have been notified on their positions individually.

There may need to be some change in EOI submission as some posts are awaiting moderation and therefore JD’s and Personal Spec. are not available.

The total job loss within FSR is 27.8 FTE.

We have asked for detail on Commissioned Services but have not been given any detail on this yet.

ooOoo

December 2014

In the verbal update, following submission of the last written report for Branch Committee, I gave details on the Cabinet Report this in summary was to approve a proposed new model for investment in early help and family support services for families with children and young people aged 0 to 18 years.

This took into account the responses and comments from the locality events which had taken place throughout the City. A total of 431 people attended the events and a further 161 submissions were received through the on-line consultation facility or as a direct written submission. In addition to this was the submission of our postcards as part of our ‘I heart Sure Start Campaign’ which amounted to over 370 completed cards.

There was also our petition which was presented to full council on 1st October 2014 which was also mentioned within Cabinet Report and was considered as part of the consultation on the Family Services Review.

Full analysis was taken account and themes emerged as follows.

The response

Three feedback sessions have been scheduled at the Beacon Centre, Ouseburn Community Centre and at the Civic Centre.

Timeline

November 2014

 December 2014

January 2015

February – March 2015

April 2015

At the end of the sessions there is an opportunity to ask questions, from our side we asked when staff would be informed of the impact on actual job holders, we asked whether the job selection process was expected to be in place by December as the timeline would suggest this was the case and that the new model would be in place from April 2015.

The response is that this would be the case and a meeting to discuss this further with Trade Unions would be put in calendar this week.

We further asked that if the £385,000 had been found was there the possibility that this could be increased.

The response was that this was being looked into.

We asked whether the £385,000 being found meant a cut from other services.

The response was not from WCL Children’s but couldn’t state further.

Other questions which were raised within the feedback at Beacon Centre.

The meeting with Trade Unions is to take place on Thursday 20th November so we should have a clearer understanding of staffing processes.

ooOoo

November 2014

Within DJC 1ST October 2014 we asked whether there was any clear steer on which of the three proposed models had been preferred within the locality events.

At this point the information from all events was being collated and this would be then be shared.

We expressed concern that it appeared that whilst staff and other professionals had attended in significant numbers the number of parents and service users attending appeared to be low, we asked for a breakdown of this.

We were advised that as soon as this information was collated we would receive an update.

ooOoo

October 2014

Locality events have continued at various locations and will do so until the end of September.

Lynda Hardie (LH) attended a full event from 10.00 – 14.00pm at Galafields, Newbiggin Hall on 20th September.

The event covers –

There are table discussions throughout and views are noted.

At the end of the event attendees are asked to take part in voting for their preferred option model this is by voting button there are some questions that are asked first including-

We should work with universal services to enable them to better meet the needs of children with poorer life chances.  (The options are to agree, disagree or register undecided. )

We should prioritise resources for children, young people and families at greatest need.  (Agree, disagree or undecided. )

There are 5 questions in total before the Model selection.

LH had previously asked about what could be put in place if attendees did not want to vote at that point but wanted to consider the information further – you are able to vote on-line.

LH also asked about those who did not want to vote any they did not support any Model. Apparently this can be picked up by not voting against the number of attendees.

At this point there has been no clear steer on a preferred model, results have varied.

ooOoo

September 2014

The project team have held a number of meetings. Meetings were held with all staff in scope of the review in July. This gave

Since then a number of updates have taken place

UNISON has a meeting arranged with Councillors Kingsland and Streather this week.

ooOoo

July 2014

The Big Lottery Bid was unsuccessful which may have resulted in a different approach being viable.

The use of Social Finance Limited as proposed is not going ahead after discussion between management and Elected Members.

The last project team meeting was held on 24th June with Colin Williams. Details were gone through on services within the original scope including Sure Start and some areas of Family Services and Education Service. There was also discussion on suggested additional services which may be included.

Further work was needed on the information that had been supplied and it was hoped that this would be completed for this week. The details would then be discussed with Ewan Weir before proceeding.

A further meeting of the Project Team is scheduled for 11th July 2014.

It was hoped that meetings with staff could be arranged and this would be looked at asap.

With Schools further discussion would be needed due to the tight timescale.

ooOoo

June 2014

No further meetings have taken place the next meeting is scheduled for 11th June.

ooOoo

May 2014

Last meeting of the Project Team took place on 4th April an update was given by Colin Williams (Head of Resilience Prevention and Early Intervention) on Social Finance Limited.

(This was also brought up within the DJC which took place on 30th April).

Social Finance Limited has put together a draft work proposal on the Review of Family Services.

They state that their’ work is intended to support Newcastle City Council and its partners undertake a whole systems review of services and interventions delivered to the population (ages 0-25)’.

There work will be informed by the

Within DJC, Ewan Weir (Director of Wellbeing Care & Learning) confirmed that this is just a proposal at this time.

ooOoo

April 2014

The last meeting of the Project Team took place on 4th April an update was given by Colin Williams (Head of Resilience Prevention and Early Intervention) on Social Finance Limited.

(This was also brought up within the DJC which took place on 30th April).

Social Finance Limited has put together a draft work proposal on the Review of Family Services.

They state that their’ work is intended to support Newcastle City Council and its partners undertake a whole systems review of services and interventions delivered to the population (ages 0-25)’.

There work will be informed by the

 Within DJC, Ewan Weir (Director of Wellbeing Care & Learning) confirmed that this is just a proposal at this time.

ooOoo

March 2014

The 4th Version of the Proposal and Integrated Impact Assessment has now been made available. This includes a timetable for the review including:

ooOoo

January 2014

This review is still being scoped out.

ooOoo

December 2013

Savings to be met - £500,000. Efficient and effective use of programmed monies and services. No further details.


 

New on Site

23/03/2017

Training

New courses for members and stewards.

Labour Research Department Fact 79/12

Inflation leaps to 3.2%

More regulation of gig economy needed

Appalling risk of suicides in construction

Fat cats — the great pay divide

Racist abuse after Brexit vote

Lack of diversity at top in Wales


22/03/2017

Branch Committee

Papers for the meeting on Monday 3 April.


18/03/2017

Regional Disabled Members Group

Meeting on Tuesday 28 March 2017 at 4.30pm.

Misogyny as a Hate Crime

Nottinghamshire Police have taken the bold step to identify misogyny as a hate crime and Northern UNSION are keen for this to be replicated in our region. The aim of the event is to identify how we can move the issue forward across the region with all three Police and Crime Commissioners.

Labour Research Department Fact 79/11

Swings and scooters of inflation basket

No real improvement in weekly earnings

Cosmetic improvement with Living Wage

Zero-hours contracts at record high

Unemployment falls below 1.6 million


12/03/2017

AGM 2017

Agenda and annual report.

Labour Research Department Fact 79/10

Economic forecasts in Hammond's Budget

Mixed fortunes in ethnic women's pay gap data

Company merger and acquisitions in 2016

Numbers on zero-hours contracts at a high

GMB take on DX delivery firm

Former chancellor's nice big earner

Charter to stop violence at work


03/03/2017

March/Rally for Durham Teaching Assistants

Saturday 25 March. Hear grassroots, union and guest speakers and watch the Reel News film showing the Durham Teaching Assistants’ story.

LGBT Policy weekend

Saturday 25 March, to plan UNISON LGBT activities for the year ahead.

HOPE Not Hate Event

A joint training session for trade union and community activists on how to organise to defeat the politics of division.  18 March 2017.

NE People’s Assembly

March calendar of events and activities.

Labour Research Department Fact 79/9

Trade Union Act regs come into force

Gender pension gap leaves women short

Violence at work — the nasty truth

Bookseller's £7m salary

Money purchase pension are norm

British Gas denied appeal in Lock case

Government fails in ethnicity review


01/03/2017

Branch Committee

Papers for the meeting on Monday 6 March.

Retired members

Papers for the retired members' meeting on 17 March.


24/02/2017

Branch Lottery

Winners in February.

Workers Memorial Day

Morning seminar and afternoon remembrance service in Hartlepool on Friday 28 April 2017. There is also an Eve of WMD ‘Gig’ on Thursday 27 April.


23/02/2017

Labour Research Department Fact 79/8

Government green paper on pensions

A 'Stern diet' for fat cat directors' pay

Employers — don't miss out on talent

Argos repays £2.4 million to 37,000 staff

Economic growth revised upwards

Work fears of disabled people revealed

In the papers

Migrants have helped make Britain. It’s time to celebrate us

NHS at breaking point, according to British Medical Association

Councils prepare to cut essential services to fund adult social care

London transport spending equivalent to £1,500 more per head than North East


22/02/2017

Labour Research Department Fact 79/7

Minimum wage cheats named and shamed

Inflation hits three-year high

Unemployment at 11-year low

Inflation erodes growth in weekly earnings

In the papers

Migrants are always the scapegoats. But now they’re taking on Ukip’s lies

I, Daniel Blake is a realistic depiction of life on benefits. Isn’t it?

English social care system for elderly facing 'complete collapse'

North East peers want law to make Government investigate impact of Brexit on region

North East recruitment drive revealed as jobless total in region rises

UK employment growth driven by foreign nationals, figures show

The NHS needs a rethink. Its priorities no longer make sense

Top Labour politicians come to 'UKIP area' Sunderland for Brexit debates and festival

Rothbury Community Hospital inpatient ward closure public meeting this week

Shopping will cost you more as prices rise, but is Brexit to blame?

Campaigners calling for u-turn over Post Office move

UK labour shortages reported as EU worker numbers fall

Britons living in the EU face Brexit backlash, leaked paper warns

Then the Daily Mail came for Gary Lineker, and we said: ‘Enough!’

Brexit survey revealed: What you would do if given second shot at EU referendum

Booming gig economy costs £4bn in lost tax and benefit payouts, says TUC

There will be a shameful betrayal of the Brexit low-paid

Welcome to the new dark ages, where only the wealthy can retire

NHS 'pays £7.5m a year for 20 most expensive agency doctors'

Drive to bring health and social care together is a well-intentioned mess


12/02/2017

Disabled Members Policy Weekend

Sunderland, 19/20 May 2017.

Members training

Sign Language (BSL) Introduction, 2 March 2017

Dementia Workshop, 30 March 2017

Reps training

Regional Education Calendar 2017

In the papers

A&E in England had worst delays ever in January, leak suggests

Why was Newcastle Council leader Nick Forbes the star of Prime Minister's questions?

Number of patients stuck in hospital 'far higher than NHS data shows'

It's time corporate tax dodgers started losing lucrative council contracts

More council housing needed in the North East - government report reveals

Council tax, youth funding and bins: 6 things to look out for from Sunderland budget meeting

TyneMet and South Tyneside colleges merger: What it means for jobs, campuses and its new name?

Labour Research Department Fact 79/6

Review of tribunal fees finally published

Plan to tackle abusive hiring practices

Insecure work on rise

Twenty eight directors share £68.37 million


05/02/2017

Affiliations and donations

A list of affiliations and donations that the branch committee has approved since January 2015.


07/02/2017

In the papers

UK faces return to inequality of Thatcher years, says report

NHS ID scheme could deter eligible patients, say MPs

Councils may cut social care provision due to underfunding, LGA says

Nursery schools: ‘What society gives children less chance than their parents?’

Council tax rise planned for Northumberland residents as authority faces £36m cuts

'Trump can't hack Trebs' - the best signs from Newcastle anti-Trump demonstration

Labour Research Department Fact 79/5

Racism at work

Economy grows but there's a shortfall

Advice on gender pay gap from Acas

Tories offer no solution on discrimination

Eight assaults a day in Welsh schools

UNIMAG 33

A quarterly periodical updating branch reps on employment law.


06/02/2017

Branch Lottery

Winners in January.


27/01/2017

Young Members

Northern Region Young Members AGM

Black Members

UNISON Northern Region Black Members Forum AGM 2017.

LV Car Insurance

Discounted car insurance for UNISON members.


26/01/2017

North East March and Rally for #ourNHS

In Newcastle on Saturday 4 February.

Branch Committee

Papers for the meeting on 6 February.

Labour Research Department Fact 79/4

Death by a thousand fire service cuts

Guidance on stress

Modern-day slave traders jailed

Fees let bad bosses get off scot free

Top-ranked inclusive employers 2017

Get tough on pay, says pension funds


22/01/2017

Women's Network AGM

Agenda and nomination form for the mmeting on 4 February.

Disabled Members

Annual Meeting of the Regional Disabled Members Self Organised Group on Tuesday 31 January 2017.

Members training

Mental Health Awareness Workshop on Thursday 16 February.

Labour Research Department Fact 79/3

Wales to ditch parts of 2016 Trade Union Act

Inflation rates at highest since 2014

Retail inflation eating into earnings growth

UK unemployment at nine-year low

In the Papers

Public sector pay poised to fall by thousands in real terms, TUC says

May’s promise on workers’ rights is hollow if she doesn’t get a deal

NHS crisis: the one act of self-sacrifice that could rescue our health service

Politicians have ignored the working class for too long

World's eight richest people have same wealth as poorest 50%

Crisis, what NHS crisis? Theresa May must stop this denial

Welsh government tables bill to overturn Trade Union Act


15/01/2017

Anne Frank Trust Exhibition

UNISON have now been allocated two spots on the 16 January to have guided tours around the Anne Frank exhibition. 

Labour Research Department Fact 79/2

Courier's tribunal win against CitySprint

TUC warns over Brexit threat to workers' rights

Lame excuses for not paying minimum wage

High street store fined over safety

Manufacturing output edges higher

Child poverty briefing


13/01/2017

Branch Lottery

Winners in December.


06/01/2017

The Trade Union Act and UNISON's Political Fund

Consultation on political fund review: December-January

Reading Ahead

We are having our first Reading Ahead launch at Welford Learning Zone on 11 January between 10am and 11am.

Trade Union Reps courses

Book now to secure your place on one of the courses for Reps at Newcastle College starting in January 2017.

Northern Region Training Programme

UNISON courses in 2017. These courses are free and open to all members unless otherwise stated.

Labour Research Department Fact 79/1

'Precarious pay penalty' of zero-hours staff

Plans for a Universal Basic Income

2017 — economic forecasts for year

'Fat Cat Wednesday' has been and gone

Northern Ireland to reveal political gifts

UK's deficit in trade in goods gets ever worse

UK economic growth revised upwards